Government to ban white supremacist group

Home Secretary Priti Patel has moved to outlaw the white supremacist group, Atomwaffen Division and list National Socialist Order as its alias.

Atomwaffen Division claimed it had disbanded in March 2020 following pressure from US law enforcement agencies, but in July 2020, National Socialist Order announced itself online as its ‘successor’.

The Home Office has confirmed that Patel has asked Parliament to proscribe Atomwaffen Division, which is a predominantly US-based white supremacist group that celebrates and promotes the use of violence in order to bring about a fascist, white ethno-state by means of a ‘race war’.

This will make it a criminal offence to be a member of, or invite support for the group, with those found guilty facing up to 10 years in prison. Through the Counter-Terrorism and Sentencing Bill, this will increase to 14 years.

The terrorist group has inspired other loosely affiliated groups abroad, including Feuerkrieg Division, which the UK proscribed as a terrorist organisation in July 2020.

Patel said: “Vile and racist white supremacist groups like this exist to spread hate, sow division and advocate the use of violence to further their sick ideologies. I will do all I can to protect young and vulnerable people from being radicalised which is why I am taking action to proscribe this dangerous group.”



View the latest
digital issue